Follow your dreams

I was one of the fortunate people who, at a young age, knew exactly what I wanted to do with my life. Although the journey wasn’t at all a smooth one, now I am grateful for every moment because it lead me to where I am now.

From the age of 15, I knew I wanted to be a Registered Dietitian. Today, that dream came true when I passed my RD exam. For those of who you don’t know exactly what a Registered Dietitian is, please, let me briefly explain:

RDs are nutrition experts who have a 4-year bachelor of science degree in nutritional sciences/dietetics. Some have advanced degrees. Beyond obtaining a degree, the training includes a rigorous unpaid internship that provides experience in various settings. Upon graduating said internship, you are eligible for an exam administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration. Once you pass the exam, you become an RD. RDs are more than nutritionists. Anyone who uses Google and has an interest in nutrition can be a nutritionist. Dietitians undergo training in food service, management, clinical settings (hospitals, long term care), and community settings.

My journey to becoming an RD truly began when I was an overweight 12-year-old. I was one of those children health professionals directed their gazes towards when they came into classrooms and warned us about the dangers of childhood obesity. To combat being marginalized, I took it upon myself to lose weight and live a healthier life.

Several years down the road, as my body image waxed and waned, “eating right” and exercising became a real struggle for me. It felt less like a balanced lifestyle and more like an unhealthy addiction. Eventually, I was diagnosed with an eating disorder. With the help of an excellent medical team (including a dietitian), I began to understand the life-sustaining aspects of food. This is when I knew exactly what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to learn the science behind nutrients, understand their importance, and share what I learned with other people who struggled the same way I had.

In the midst of my confusion with what was going on with my body, my mom suffered a massive heart attack. I remember a dietitian in the hospital having spoken to her. I was already aware of the aspects of a heart-healthy diet, but this was when I realized that the job of a dietitian is not easy: some patients are non-compliant and do not respectfully consider the advice of a dietitian (my mom, for instance). Regardless, my dream lived on.

When I finally started college, I felt a bit discouraged because I was not accepted to Penn State’s main campus, but instead was accepted to the branch campus in Erie. The feelings of discouragement subsided when I began taking courses that interested me, however I truly struggled from a social aspect. I met a few outstanding people, but I was overwhelmingly surrounded by shallow people who bullied me (who would’ve thought that bullying would be an issue in college?!) and purposely excluded me. Honestly, it was an awful two years, but I could not let go of the idea of being an RD.

Finally, I made it to Penn State’s main campus and finished my degree. During the internship application season (fall semester of senior year), everyone was on edge, because the next step was to get “matched” to an internship program, some of which did not have promising acceptance rates. Most people applied to several programs; I applied to one– the only one that was financially possible for me to attend, although it was the one that appealed to me the most anyway, for reasons other than money.

I was accepted to the internship and was beyond ecstatic, but several weeks after the program began, I grew extremely depressed and I struggled academically. The program director even called me and advised me to consider whether or not I belong in the program. At this point, I was devastated. Yes, I struggled more than anticipated, but my mental health problems have never before so strongly affected my academic/professional success. I spent the rest of the internship with barely existent self-esteem and felt as if I was walking on eggshells, constantly questioning whether or not I belonged there.

Well, I obviously graduated from the internship, (thank you to those of you who believed in me) and I even got my first job out of it.

3 months after graduating from the internship, I passed my RD exam and am now a registered dietitian. It’s been a long road and there have been bumps and massive potholes along the way, but the important thing is to keep your dreams alive. Ask yourself what it is that you REALLY want to do. You may have days, months, or years in which you feel like it will never come to you, but it’s up to you to keep revisiting that vision you have of yourself and allowing yourself the freedom to explore it.

Leave a comment